Classic Formula Ford FF2000 Historic Formula Ford HSCC

Cadwell Park Wolds Trophy: qualifying round-up

Qualifying for all HSCC Formula Ford categories is now done at Cadwell, with some familiar faces on top and some surprises.

Cam Jackson is out again in his Winkelmann for both Historic and Classic Formula Ford and qualified on pole both times, but was not quite on his usual dominant form. Henry Chart will line up second in Classic less than half a second slower, although he had engine trouble with his Van Diemen RF81 towards the end of the session. Jordan Harrison (Lola T504E) is another couple of tenths behind in third, setting up an interesting opening lap.

Samuel Harrison will start fourth in his Class B Elden Mk8, ahead of 2019 champion Rick Morris’s Royale RP21.

The session was interrupted by a red flag after a collision at the Hairpin between the Alexis of Robin Haslam and the Van Diemen RF78 of Ben Hadfield. This has left several drivers with only a few laps under their belts.

Historic Formula Ford 2000 has a massive entry and two heats will be held later today. Benn Simms was the quickest from two qualifying sessions in his Reynard SF77, ahead of Andrew Park, who topped the second qualifying session in a Reynard SF81. His fellow SF81 driver Graham Fennymore was third quickest and these three were the only ones to go under the 1:31 mark. Murray Shepherd, the sole Classic FF2000 entry in Tony Hancock’s Van Diemen RF82, was fifth in the first session.

Jackson was predictably the quickest of the Historic FF1600 drivers, but again, he was kept relatively honest by his rivals this time and only did three laps. In the absence of Linton Stutely, whose Royale RP3 is still being repaired after its Silverstone shunt, Samuel Harrison qualified second. Harrison, who ran well at this circuit last year, will be looking to make up for the disappointment of losing out due to a crash with Mike Gardner.

Horatio Fitz-Simon, driving for Classic Team Merlyn, was another driver who only got three laps in, but they were good for third on the grid. Brian Morris (Lola T202) and Danny Stanzl’s Elden are up next, with Matt Wrigley’s Merlyn just a thousandth of a second slower than Stanzl.

Full qualifying results at TSL Timing

Image copyright Shaws Motorsport

FF2000 HSCC Uncategorized

And the rest: Snetterton roundup

Two further Formula Ford championships were in action at Snetterton’s HSCC meeting this weekend.

The URS Classic Formula Ford 2000 series for later FF2000 cars runs alongside the URS Classic Formula 3 championship. 2019 Locost champion Murray Shepherd was the winner of both races. Driving a Van Diemen RF82 belonging to Tony Hancock, he was head and shoulders above his nearest rival Erik Pagano and was two seconds a lap quicker at his fastest. The gap between the pair, who came to blows on-track at Donington, expanded to almost three seconds in Race 2.

Although not quite within Vintage Formula Ford’s timeframe, the Zig Zag Lighting Heritage Formula Ford series hosted some older cars, including the PRS of Oliver Chapman, who had also raced in Classic Formula Ford the day before. The modern Ray of Max Esterson took both victories, with commentator Ben Edwards’s Van Diemen RF92 the first of the Heritage cars home.

Image copyright HSCC/Paul Lawrence