News Walter Hayes Trophy

Jackson to race ex-Neil Cunningham Van Diemen at the Walter Hayes

Cam Jackson is set to race a Van Diemen RF90 first used by Neil Cunningham at this weekend’s Walter Hayes Trophy.

2021 HSCC Historic Formula Ford champion Jackson will be entered for both the Trophy itself and the Janet Cesar Trophy for pre-’93 cars.

The car is owned by Dave Morgan and was instrumental in multi-champion Cunningham’s early success, taking him to fifth place in the 1991 Formula Ford Great Britain championship with Morgan’s Central Racing Services team. It was also the last car that he drove competitively before his death from motor neurone disease in 2016; he made a guest appearance in the Formula Ford SuperSeries at Donington in 2011.

Jackson commented that this is “about the only era of Formula Ford I haven’t raced,” having won both Historic and Classic titles and also raced more modern machinery at the WHT itself. His only experience in a 1990s car is some testing in the Lanan 1904 belonging to his father Simon, who will also be in action in the Janet Cesar Trophy.

The Lanan will not be the only car Jackson potentially races against which he has driven. The Van Diemen RF80 he drove in Classic Formula Ford last year will be out again, this time in the hands of sportscar ace Kelvin Burt. Formula 1 and Indycar driver Roberto Moreno drove the car at the Formula Ford Festival.

(Image copyright Heroes of FF1600)