Historic Formula Ford HSCC

Mitchell spins and wins

Ben Mitchell won the second Historic Formula Ford race, despite a big spin on the wet track.

The result could have gone one of several ways, with Mitchell’s Merlyn Mk20 prevailing in a series of slipstreaming contests with Tom McArthur’s Titan Mk4 and Classic Team Merlyn’s Samuel Harrison, with Jamie Vinall-Meyer in a Jamun T3 joining them. Mitchell lost out in almost as many drafting battles, with the lead changing multiple times and all three leaders even going wide together at Club at one point.

Despite getting a good start, polesitter McArthur was quickly caught by Mitchell, with Harrison catching them and taking the lead briefly. McArthur did retake, but he went wide at Becketts and Harrison retaking. As the track became wetter, Mitchell spun hard and lost time, but a collision between McArthur and Vinall-Meyer at Woodcote bought him time and his superior handling of backmarkers allowed him to build up a gap to Harrison, who was second. He saved his quickest lap until last, consolidating his gap to the rest of the field with a 2:24.8 lap.

Vinall-Meyer was third, having escaped his altercation with McArthur unscathed. The series newcomer ran as high as second despite his share of slides and showed incredible pace: he was one of three drivers to dip under the 2:26 mark, with Mitchell and Harrison.

McArthur was dropped to fifth by the contact and then had his old sparring partner, Cam Jackson, to deal with. Jackson, driving Simon Toyne’s Lola T200 after wrecking his Winkelmann yesterday, made great progress from the back of the grid, quickly gaining sixth place, but he was unable to catch the leading group, which had a huge advantage by then. He passed McArthur for fifth but could not get much closer to brother Dominik Jackson, in a Crossle, who was fourth. The elder Jackson had a steady race without much conflict, some way behind the lead group.

The struggle for Over 50s honours came next, with seventh-placed Brian Morris emerging as the winner in his Lola T202. Ross Drybrough (March 709) had attacked on the penultimate lap, but went wide at Brooklands and had to settle for eighth. Cormac Flanagan’s Alexis was next in ninth, although Flanagan had run higher earlier in the race and even had a go at keeping Jackson behind him. Tim Brise was tenth in his Merlyn Mk20, having seen off the similar cars of Chris Porritt and Rob Smith earlier. Smith, who was happier with his car than yesterday, was 12th and Porritt 13th, with Scott Rawlinson in a Merlyn Mk11A ahead of them in 11th.

Full results at TSL Timing

By Rachel Harris-Gardiner

Rachel Harris-Gardiner is the editor of Vintage Formula Ford and former Historic editor for She is a regular contributor to Autosport and Motorsport News and writes her own blog about women in motorsport, Speedqueens.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s